Resources for Teaching about Kony 2012

I’ve been quite bummed as my students near the end of a major research project with students for Project Citizen (which they will display to the public next Tuesday), because I have not been able to have deep conversations with my students about the Kony campaign.  It’s the perfect teaching opportunity:

  1. Students are engaged and curious about the content (I heard about it from a half-dozen students before any major media picked it up),
  2. The truth about the situation is far more complicated than it seems at first, and
  3. What appears at first to be a black and white moral issue reveals many shades of gray after further inquiry.

I’m hoping students will still be excited for it in a couple of weeks, especially because the teacher(R)evolution job has put together an incredible wealth of resources  to investigate the Kony2012 phenomena in much depth.  There’s enough great stuff there for a week’s worth of lessons, as well as to kick-start a great inquiry-based research unit.  Check them out and I hope there will be many great, complex conversations in classrooms in the coming weeks.

3 thoughts on “Resources for Teaching about Kony 2012

  1. Thank you for posting this! I’ve been waiting for the NYT Learning Network to post something, but haven’t seen anything yet.

    Next week I start my “modern Africa” unit, and would like to try to fit in at least one Kony lesson; my students have also been talking about it, and the Global teachers have discussed it too.

    Ah, but you know the tension — Kony will not be on the June Regents, so I don’t feel I can spare a week on it. As The Test approaches, I tend to fixate on the FAQs . . .

    Like

    1. I think you could still justify it. Kony hits a ton of thematic essays: individuals, political systems, human rights, imperialism, revolutions, conflict, and global issues. It’s about as high value a regents topic as you can get.

      Not to mention, the more time I spend helping students get ready, the more I feel that all that matters in terms of content-acquisition is the 3 weeks before the test.

      Like

  2. I wish I had seen this sooner! I did an impromptu Kony lesson today with my 10th graders. We began with a simple discussion of what they knew…then, we watched the Kony 2012 video and discussed what one could learn from the video alone. Students then generated a list of questions about Uganda, Africa and the LRA which we divided by topic and then broke into groups to research and find answers. What came out of it was a fantastic discussion on colonization in Africa, a student lead discussion on the history of Uganda (which many had never even heard of before the Kony campaign) and finally an inspiring conversation about the role of social media in education.

    Like

Comments are closed.