Great advice on teaching whole novels

Fellow Brooklyn teacher Ariel Sacks has a really great piece on Ed Week with really concrete advice for English teachers looking to teach whole class novels:

Since then, I have been developing ways to work with students of varying abilities in reading whole novels and driving their own discussions. Every time I’ve taken this leap of faith with my students, they have surprised me. I’ve found that students can discover on their own just about everything I might have planned to “teach” them about literature. The keys are to create a supportive classroom community and give them the time and space to interact authentically with the literary work.

 The whole piece is full of really practical suggestions that will be useful to any teacher who has their students read for class. You can read more from Ariel at her blog, On the Shoulder of Giants.
