Goals for the 2011-12 School Year

Following on the heels of my last post, here are my goals for the upcoming school year:

Teaching (The first two are also my “official” school goals that are being used to guide observations)

I will improve the way I give feedback to students.  Formally, I hope to develop a system to give students feedback about writing that meaningfully a) tells students where they are, b) what they need to do to improve and c) is efficient enough that I can provide frequent and timely feedback to all students.  I also need to make sure I am giving informal feedback more frequently to all students.  (I hope that moving to a Standards Based Grading system will enable these things to happen organically).

Students will have multiple opportunities to rethink and revise their answers to large essential questions throughout each unit, and will also reflect on and revise all major work.

I will solicit bi-weekly feedback from my students to ensure they understand why they’re doing what they’re doing, and to give them a voice in what happens in the class.

Leadership
The Social Studies Critical Friends Group will meet once a month, and will be valuable for its participants.

Advisory
100% of my new advisees will either graduate or earn at least ten credits by June.

100% of my advisees will be accepted to college, and will have a plan to pay for it or whatever else they choose to do next year.

Personal / Professional Development
At least once per week, I will write and publish a piece of writing about teaching social studies, be it about my practice or teaching in general.

Every two months, I will write and publish a self-evaluation of how I am doing on these goals.

2 thoughts on “Goals for the 2011-12 School Year

  1. I’d be interested to hear more how you’re applying standards based grading in the history classroom.

    Most teachers I’ve encountered who do SBG or either lower grade teachers and/or math/science teachers.

    Have you written about that elsewhere?

    Like

Comments are closed.