Rejuvination

I must admit, I left the SOS March tired: of division, fighting, the fight, politics, and of people whose only interest in education is abstract, political, or both.  I was ready to start sitting out the current education wars while I hone my craft, believing full well that the current popular interest in deforming education will wane, and that at some point in my career, be it 5, 10 or 20 years down the line, there would be an opportunity for real change that actually benefits students.

It was probably a good thing, then, that I didn’t come home after the march.  Instead, I took a pit stop at Swarthmore College, where for the past week, along with sixteen other brilliant and passionate educators, I participated in an institute on teacher leadership in all its many forms led by professors of education from around the northeast.  Leaving that experience and finally making it home, I cannot remember the last time I felt such rejuvenation, energy, and hope for the future of education.

No amount of writing could do justice to just how much I took from this week. If nothing else had happened other than putting 17 teacher-leaders with 4-10 years of experience* in the same dorm for a week, it would have been a life affirming experience.  After feeling alone and isolated at my own school for much of the past two years, I can’t express what a relief it was to meet so many others in similar situations.  I met people with whom I will correspond for years to come, and from whom I have much to learn.

On top of that, I got to experience sessions looking at all forms of teacher leadership, gaining the practical suggestions and supports I could only have dreamed of getting during my time in school leadership roles.  Although I will not be filling any official leadership capacity at my new school, the tools I gained will be ones I will have access to for the rest of my career.  The week also forced me to consider other avenues of teacher leadership I have not previously, including conducting action research and taking on student-teachers.

The week has left me with much on which to think in the coming months and years: the importance of personal and shared professional rituals, the most effective ways to mentor and coach new and novice teachers, the most meaningful use of adults’ common time to support collaboration, and the ways in which writing can support adults’ development.

I feel incredibly blessed to have had this opportunity, which I am thankful is not completed: this group will reconvene during the year and again next summer to share our progress in the individual projects we each developed and to further learn together.

In the meantime, with support from the people I’ve been working with over the past week, I am hoping to form a Critical Friends-like group of social studies teachers who are strong teachers in NYC small schools and whom find themselves in instructional leadership roles or otherwise without access to similarly strong teachers at their school sites.

* The one major problem with the whole experience: the institutional racism latent in education reared its face here: 15 of the 17 participants were white.

5 thoughts on “Rejuvination

  1. Hi Steve –

    Thanks so much for your thoughts here – I agree that it was an amazing experience. Just one comment – while the CETE schools are predominantly white institutions, we often find that the proportion of students of color doing education at those schools is often greater than that in the institutions more generally (and 40% of Swarthmore students identify as non-white). Since we didn’t ask questions about race (or ethnicity or gender or sexual orientation) in our application, we had no way of knowing who would come. I agree that the demographics were troubling, although I wouldn’t necessarily say that was only the result of our CETE connection.

    Lisa

    Like

  2. You know Steve, as I think about your footnote, it occurs to me that we’re in a “Catch 22” situation. We want young people of color to be excited about their schooling, and part of doing that is staffing our public schools with leaders from the communities those schools serve. The hope is this will improve the experience of the students, subsequently making them want to teach in those very same schools.

    I think schools do not attract professional adults of color because they still look too much like the institutions that failed them, and their communities, as children (and I mean “failed them” in both senses here). Until we’re ready to encourage real change and innovation, rather than give new names to the same drill-and-kill instruction, not much is going to change, I’m afraid.

    Like

  3. Dan – I think you’re spot on. It still amazes me how “autonomy” and decentralization in NYC actually ensured more cookie cutter schools than anything else. Sometimes I feel like the best we can hope for these days is that this wave of “reform” is a complete disaster, opening the door for some radical changes in the coming years.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Outside the Cave

Comments are closed.