A Quick Look Ahead to Next Year

After five and a half years at the Bronx Lab School, I’m going to be moving on to a new school next fall, where I will be teaching senior government and economics.  The switch is taking place for a lot of reasons, chief among them geography (my wife and I moved to Brooklyn last summer, and the 75 minute commute each way isn’t sustainable) and that the school and I have grown apart pedagogically.  While its been personally hard to watch a school I helped build from the middle of its second year change, part of the point of having small schools in NYC is that they’re supposed to allow for different experiences.  I wish Bronx Lab nothing but the best as it continues to grow, but the time has come for me personally to grow elsewhere.

Over the past three months, I’ve met with  thirteen other schools.  At some point, I hope to write about the search process, as it was a fascinating experience to get to see so many NYC schools first hand.  I hope that at some point I will be able to write a lot about what I learned in my 5.5 years at Bronx Lab, though I will do so when my emotions won’t get the best of me.

In the meantime, I will be spending the coming days putting together and publishing my teaching portfolio for the year.

One thought on “A Quick Look Ahead to Next Year

  1. I hope you’ve found the progressive education environment you are looking for. Best of luck in your new adventures!

    Like

Comments are closed.