48 Hour Read-A-Thon

I’m sort of cheating, because I would be reading a lot this weekend anyway with a six hour cross country flight tomorrow and then a full day on Venice Beach on Sunday, but nonetheless, I am committing to a 48 hour Read-A-Thon, and I encourage others to do the same. Here are the guidelines from the Unputdownables blog:

If You’re In:

  1. Choose a few books that you will attempt to finish this weekend (Friday evening through Sunday night).
  2. Post your TBR Read-a-Thon books on your blog so your readers can see what you are attempting for the weekend.
  3. Challenge your readers to read along with you! (It’s OK if they don’t, but might be fun if they want to choose at least one book to participate with).
  4. Join the discussion all weekend long at #bookblogchat on Twitter.
  5. Post updates on your blog about what you are reading and what you have finished (full reviews can come later, but this will let your readers know what you are reading so they can either read along or look forward to your reviews!)
  6. Visit other blogs that are doing the read-a-long. Post comments and follow your fellow bloggers.
  7. Make sure you sign up here with Mr. Linky with a link to your first post so we can follow your progress!
  8. *If you don’t have a blog but want to participate: Sign up with Mr. Linky, just don’t add a website (or you can link to your Twitter or GoodReads page).*

If You’re Not In, but Want to Support:

  1. Check out the blogs that are participating below in the Mr. Linky list.
  2. Visit those blogs and leave comments and encouragement
  3. Add to your own TBRs as you see what others are reading!

My reading list for the weekend:

  1. Super Sad True Love Story by Gary Shteyngart – About halfway done, and loving every word of it.  I’ve been getting a lot of funny looks on the subway the past few days for laughing out loud as I read. Shteyngart’s first two are some of my favorites, and this one might be his best work yet.
  2. Too Big to Fail by Andrew Ross Sorkin – Been slogging away at this one for about a month now.  It’s time to be done, though I might loose all motivation for this one once I’m at the beach.
  3. Your Face Tomorrow: Fever and Spear by Javier Marias – Took this to the beach with me last time, but ended up lost in the Wegeland Trilogy (which is one of the most amazing works I have ever encountered – HIGHLY recommended). I feel like I keep on coming across how amazing Marias is, and I’m looking forward to seeing for myself.
  4. In Search of Lost Time by Marcel Proust – Just kidding, but I will conquer this one of these years….
4 thoughts on “48 Hour Read-A-Thon

  1. Glad you’re joining in! Might as well have ANOTHER reason to read (although a 6 hour flight will do the trick too). Venice beach is also a good place to read (I live in Santa Monica, just up the street from Venice) if you’re not too distracted by all the crazies on the boardwalk. 🙂

    Like

  2. Good luck with the ReadAThon! And have fun on the beach. Now, don’t forget you’ve committed to the ReadAThon so you have to read, and read, and read!

    Just cheering people on, I’m not participating! Go-Go-Go!!

    Like

Comments are closed.